Browse booksBy TitleBy AuthorBy CategoryBy Most RecentComplete Catalogue in PDF formatHow to order booksBooksellers NoticeRecommended reading for beginnersICB SamplerJung at Heart NewsletterPublisher ProfilesThe Story behind ICBContact UsDownload Free BooksICB Blog
Twitter The Analytic ExperienceThe Self-Regulation of the PsycheThe Brillig TrilogyEward F. EdingerAnalyst Training in CanadaRelated SitesIN MEMORIAM: Marie-Louise von Franz, 1915-1998Manuscript Submisssion GuidelinesHome

New and Recent Books


ISBN 9781894574440. Index. 128 pp. 2015. $25.00

 

In this final volume of his Badger Trilogy,  Sharp pushes the boundaries of “subjective non-fiction” about as far as they can go. Still, true to his other books in the “Jungian romance” genre (which he created), he continues to explore the psychological aspects of relationship.

Eros: Melodies of Love is informative, often playful or romantic, and always fun to read. Through his alter-egos Daemon or Badger McGee, Sharp deftly interweaves a colorful quilt of Logos and Eros, full of compassion, good humor and Jungian wisdom. Not for nothing has he been called the Harold Pinter and Samuel Beckett of the Jungian literary community, and this latest volume underlines it. Open it anywhere and be engrossed.

This is a warm and thoughtful book with big ideas. Readers familiar with Sharp’s other writings will be delighted anew. Those who chance on this book will be moved to read his other works, which all highlight the task of living intentionally, psychologically conscious.

“Lyrical and down-to-earth; a chorus of love as it manifests in life and relationships.”—A.C. Review of Books, Toronto.

“An eye-opening read for anyone interested in self-understanding. It verges on the magical in bridging the collective gap between thinking and feeling.”—J. N. Hassam, Puffin Post, Edmonton, Alberta.

“Master of rebirth in the second half of life, Sharp is living proof that Jungians do it better and longer.”—J. Sparkles Gareth, Hoosier Book Journal, Indianapolis.

Daryl Sharp, Dipl. Analytic Psych. (Zurich), M.A., B.Sc., B.J., is a graduate of the C. G. Jung Institute in Zurich and the author of many other books in the series Studies in Jungian Psychology by Jungian analysts. He is the publisher of Inner City Books in Toronto, Canada, where he has an analytic practice.

[MORE]>>>


Clinical Chaos141. Another Piece of My Heart: with Badger MGee, Sett in His Eros Ways.

Daryl Sharp

ISBN 9781894575433. Sewn. Index. 112 pp. 2014. $25.00

This second volume in the Badger Trilogy features more Jungian notes from underground, with Badger expounding on the contrasexual archetypes and Daemon musing on the personal influence of Jung’s essay, “The Undiscovered Self.” 

Another Piece of My Heart is playful and thought-provoking, as befits the author’s style in integrating Logos and Eros while differentiating between the two. Sometimes bawdy and whimsical, often laugh-out-loud absurd, and always mercurial—it is deceptively easy reading, a page-turner bound to keep one up into the wee hours. All in all, it will stir the heart and mind of cognoscenti and new readers alike. 

Sharp’s prose is wry, sardonic, candid and resonates on many levels. With Badger McGee and Bo Peep in his basement and El Jay in his bed, this book by Daryl Sharp—still the Harold Pinter and Samuel Beckett of the Jungian literary community—will amuse and edify those who thought Jungian psychology was only for intellectuals and the elite. 

“An endearing diarist in the tradition of Stephen Leacock and Samuel Pepys.”—John Robert Colombo, author and anthologist, Toronto. 

Daryl Sharp, M.A., B.Sc., B.J., is a graduate of the C. G. Jung Institute in Zurich and the author of many other books in the series Studies in Jungian psychology by Jungian analysts. He is the publisher of Inner City Books in Toronto, Canada, where he has an analytic practice.

[MORE]>>>

ISBN 9781894574426. Index. 128 pp. 2014. $25.00

 

From the Foreword by Carlos Byington:

The Red Book was always a true legend in the Jungian movement. It was thought to reveal the great secrets of the master’s life. Few people had seen it, but their description of it and the Jung family’s resistance to publishing it, turned it into a true mystery. The fact that we knew the original was in a bank safe in the center of Zurich made it a coveted and irresistible treasure. 

Examining the contents of the book, I confirmed the creativity, the originality, and the courage that Jung displayed by writing it, but I did not find properly a plot that could link its content as a whole to an individual myth, to Jung’s process of individuation, to existential details that really characterize life as it is. 

It was in this context that I accompanied my wife, Maria Helena, in her serious study of the Red Book, and her discovery of an Ariadne’s thread that suddenly became for me a clear account of an absolutely personal story line, the light and the shadow, charged with seeking, suffering, guilt, and self-realization that we can now see corresponds to what Jung described later as the process of individuation. 

Indeed, Jung’s amours have been almost as much of a mystery as the Red Book. I hope the reader has the same pleasure that I had in following the Eros-thread from his wife Emma through his patient Sabina Spielrein to his muse Tony Wolff, and so to the creation of the Red Book as uncov-ered by Maria Helena in this exciting and unique account of how Jung came to develop the concepts of anima, shadow, Self and individuation. 

Now, it would be untrue to say that Jung condoned or encouraged infidelity. However, he did experience it as necessary, in his case, to love more than one woman, with all the attendant guilt and suffering, in order to plumb the depths of his soul. His testament to the reality of the psyche is revealed in his Red Book and explicated here by Maria Helena Guerra. 

Maria Helena Mandacarú Guerra lives in Sao Paulo, Brazil, where she practices as a Jungian psychologist.

[MORE]>>>